New board members set to boost skills and training excellence

Bendigo Kangan Institute (BKI) is set to continue its drive to deliver world-class vocational education training and facilities with the appointment of two experienced professionals to its Board of Directors.

As one of Australia's leading and most trusted education and training providers BKI welcomes the expertise of Jamie Driscoll and Sharan Burrow AC as valuable additions to its board.

Jamie Driscoll is an experienced economist, finance and public sector leader. Born in Bendigo and educated at Bendigo Senior Secondary College, Mr Driscoll later qualified in economics and law with the Australian National University.

Mr Driscoll was most recently the Deputy Secretary, Budget and Finance with the Victorian Government’s Department of Treasury and Finance where he advised on Victoria’s fiscal resources, financial management and consolidated reporting as well as public sector workplace agreements. He was previously the Director, Strategy for the Major Transport Infrastructure Program in the Office of the Coordinator General. Mr Driscoll has also held various roles in the ACT and Victorian governments and was an Associate Director in Deloitte’s economics practice.

Sharan Burrow AC brings a proven track record in international advocacy on employment, human rights, industrial relations, corporate responsibility, and climate action with just transition solutions. Ms Burrow is the former General Secretary of the International Trade Union Confederation and was previously President of the Australian Council of Trade Unions. Starting her career as a teacher, Ms Burrow has been dedicated to advocating for labor standards, gender equality, sustainable business practices, and corporate responsibility, nationally and internationally.

Currently Ms Burrow is a Visiting Professor in Practice LSE at Grantham Institute, a board member of the European Climate Foundation and the Green Hydrogen Association, Co-Chair of the International Energy Agency Labor Council, a Commissioner and Leader of B Team or the Climate Governance Commission and as Chair of the Advisory Group for Curtain University’s Institute of Energy Transition.

Mr Driscoll and Ms Burrow will join newly appointed staff elected member Rudi Pavani and the existing Board, led by Chairperson Margaret O’Rourke and Deputy Chairperson Professor Hal Swerissen to guide the organisation to deliver on its strategic goals.

Chief Executive Officer Sally Curtain said Bendigo Kangan Institute welcomed the new board members and the diverse experience they would bring to the roles.

“The expertise and leadership experience of Mr Driscoll and Ms Burrow will play a pivotal role in ensuring we continue to deliver education and training that meets industry demands and empowers students to achieve meaningful career pathways,” said Ms Curtain.

"We extend our thanks to the outgoing board members, Fiona Schutt, Dr Margaret Salter and staff elected member Audrey Sanderson for their dedicated service, commitment, and contributions during their tenure.

“Their guidance and support have been instrumental in our organisation’s transformation, growth and success.”

You may also be interested in

Educator recognised amongst Australia's most exceptional women in trades
Educator recognised amongst Australia's most exceptional women in trades
Top students celebrated at Bendigo TAFE's night of nights
Top students celebrated at Bendigo TAFE's night of nights
Six ways an apprenticeship can supercharge your career
Six ways an apprenticeship can supercharge your career